… Same story, different day …
This one goes by the name System Live Protect. And from what I can understand, this one is making the rounds at a few public boards already. By that I mean, computer users are complaining about it.
Originally reported by someone else I thought I’d give it a try and to my amazement this one doesn’t inform you that you have x, y and z on your system like most rogues do.

(Click to Enlarge)

(Click to Enlarge)
And as you can also see, it looks a lot like Windows. Another copyright issue? Maybe, but I’m sure many computer users will be fooled by this!
You know what the funniest-thing-ever-is? Copying someone else’s policy. But not just any old policy. It’s a policy from a known and respected company. Click the image.

(Click to Enlarge)
Two seconds later and we can compare what you see in the image above to Lavasoft’s Policy. No surprise to assume someone went on a copy & paste mission.
What about the whois? No surprise really;-
Old Whois (taken off 14th of June);-
Registration Service Provided By: ESTDOMAINS INC
Contact: +1.3027224217
Website: http://www.estdomains.com
Domain Name: LIVE-PROTECT.COM
Registrant:
Bulavich Inc.
Yakob Van
562 Johnson str.
Memphis
TN,23542
US
Tel. +310.3432333
Creation Date: 30-Jan-2007
Expiration Date: 30-Jan-2008
Domain servers in listed order:
managedns1.estboxes.com
managedns2.estboxes.com
managedns3.estboxes.com
managedns4.estboxes.com
Latest Whois;-
Registration Service Provided By: ESTDOMAINS INC
Contact: +1.3027224217
Website: http://www.estdomains.com
Domain Name: LIVE-PROTECT.COM
Registrant:
Windefender INC Canada
Joe Cravitz (support@windefenderpro.com)
433 Appel Str.
Toronto
ON,H7H3E4
CA
Tel. +416.7639002
Creation Date: 30-Jan-2007
Expiration Date: 30-Jan-2008
Domain servers in listed order:
managedns1.estboxes.com
managedns2.estboxes.com
managedns3.estboxes.com
managedns4.estboxes.com
… I say suprise. Take the name Dmitry Welch as an example. On the offending web-site above it states:
“Dmitry is the Founder and CEO of Live-Protect. As CEO, he is responsible for developing the overall vision, strategy and product roadmap for the company.”
That isn’t the only site which has the above quote on. It’s also on Sysrergistry.com and RegMagic.com. Click on those links, they all relate to Estdomains Inc. And also, to no suprise, a different registrant address appears. Plus they registerd on the same day.

(Click to Enlarge)

(Click to Enlarge)

(Click to Enlarge)
If you clicked on those images you can clearly tell that on the company/contact pages it has the same statement about who works there and what they do. For comedy value they also ask you to communicate via IM … lol
So what do you think about this? Tell us here. You can also receive help in our forums if this has affected you. Or if english isn’t your first language, visit asap for a wider choice.
Removal Guides;
(Thanks goes out to nosirrah, suzi and several other for this)
Update - They clearly don’t like us and are changing the whois alot.
Share this article/page with:
These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.