Welcome guest!

Require computer help? Then navigate yourself to our forum and Register for free! Already a member? Then Log In and we'll see you there!

Wanted: Techno Geek/Security Bloggers! If this interests you then please contact Andy via the contact page! Only a few places up for grabs!

Subscribe

  • Add to Windows Live
  • Add to Google Reader or Homepage
  • Add Security Cadets to Newsburst from CNET News.com
  • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
  • Subscribe to Yahoo
  • Add to My AOL
  • FeedBurner
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Security Cadets - RSS-Get the Klip for this site

Spam Poison

  • Spampoison

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
All articles are licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Search

Guess who goofed up their new fake BrainCodec-homesite

November 28th, 2006 by jahewi

If you’ve been reading our blogs regularly, then you know about fake codecs and fake scanners, like VirusBurst/VirusBuster/VirusBursters.

If you know me a littlebit, you’ll probably know where this little story will end up ;-)

Yep, it’s time to look at the latest goof-up by our not-so-friendly-Fake-Codec-pushers …. ESTDOMAINS!!!

Yesterday, they took it upon theirselves to get a new name for their Zlob-package and called it BrainCodec.

Offcourse, there has to be a home-site for this new beauty … so they parked it on braincodec.com.

Nothing new … even the design is a almost exact copy of the sites ICodecPack, QualityCodec, PerfectCodec (to name a few) and GoldCodec.

However, it seems they were in a hurry a bit to get this codec-baby on the road.

Why? Look closely!

BrainCodec-site image

They were in such a hurry, that they forgot to replace the GoldCodec-image (you can’t miss it. It’s in the top left-corner) with a BrainCodec-image.

I guess they will replace the site-image soon enough, so i’m very glad with the screenshot, that i have …

Maybe i should enlarge it and hang it on the wall … that way i can keep smiling about THE fake-codec pushers.

Want to discuss fake codecs, fake malware-scanners or EstDomains with me in more detail? Then click here.

Like this article? Share it with others!
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Print this article!
  • Digg
  • co.mments
  • blinkbits
  • blogmarks
  • Blogosphere News
  • del.icio.us
  • De.lirio.us
  • Facebook
  • Fark
  • Fleck
  • Furl
  • Google
  • LinkaGoGo
  • Live
  • Netvouz
  • NewsVine
  • Propeller
  • Reddit
  • Scoopeo
  • Sphinn
  • Spurl
  • Slashdot
  • SphereIt
  • StumbleUpon
  • TailRank
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis
  • Yahoo! Buzz

Filed under Rogue Programs, Security Related |

3 Responses

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Guess who goofed up their new fake BrainCodec-homesite…

    If youve been reading our blogs regularly, then you know about fake codecs and fake scanners, like VirusBurst/VirusBuster/VirusBursters.

    If you know me a littlebit, youll probably know where this little story will end up ;-)

    Yep, its time to look…

  2. milligansghost Says:

    Well nodoby did say they where very smart did they, mind you there are some even less smart types who will fall for it yet again :-(

  3. jahewi Says:

    Unfortunately, You’re right :(
    I haven’t seen logs with it, yet, but they will come … no doubt about it.

    … and offcourse, we will be happy enough to help them ;-)

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.